Burning Down: The Songs of Anarchist Prisoner Sean Swain

  • Posted on: 12 May 2015
  • By: Luke

Announcing! Burning Down: The Songs of Anarchist Prisoner Sean Swain

Link: https://seanswain.bandcamp.com/releases

Burning Down is a collaborative music project between anarchist prisoner Sean Swain and musicians outside of prison. The lyrics to all of the songs on this album were written by Sean. The music was written and recorded by the bands, in some cases with input from Sean. As Sean is a fan of folk and punk music, bands that reflect those genres were sought for this project. If you like a particular band, there is a link to their website, bandcamp or facebook if you click on the individual track. A physical version of this compilation will eventually be released, hopefully by the end of 2015. Until then, submissions are still being accepted. Information on how to contribute a song to this project can be found on the bandcamp page.

This project aims to support Sean and bring his lyrics to life. It also aims to provoke interest in prisoner support in general, including collaboration with prisoners on creative projects such as this and support their artistic aspirations, in whatever form that may take.

For a world without cops, cages or borders!

The album is free to download, but you can donate to Sean's legal defense fund at his website: seanswain.org



This is a really cool project. Y'all should ask Ramshackle Glory to do a song.

I see that Douglas Fur did the last track and he is in Ramshackle Glory, so maybe you did ask them. I still think it would be cool if the whole band did a track, or even just a Pat The Bunny solo track in addition to the Douglas Fur track, as they would sound pretty different.

So now I realized Luke/Cottontail is also a member of Ramshackle Glory...so yeah...I guess if the whole band or Pat also did a track that would mean y'all would be over-represented on the compilation. This whole string of comments should probably just be deleted, sorry. Anyway, cool project!

Add new comment

Filtered HTML

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Enter the code without spaces.